Theory of Color

I have been taking a ‘Color Theory’ art class this semester. This class teaches more in-depth about color. In addition to what I already know prior to the class (hue, tint/shade, intensity, complementary, analogous, etc.), I’ve also learned about “colorful grays.” My professor also lectured about different artists and how they used color to differentiate (or associate) themselves from other artists.

We’ve worked with watercolor and oil paint.

 
Here are some of the watercolor pieces I made this semester. The first one is just from pooling around water and almost infusing the suspended water droplets with watercolor paint. I allowed it to dry and just added a background color to finish it off.
The second is a pointillism work that only uses primary colors. Ideally, your eyes will mix the different colored dots. For example, an area of blue and yellow dots will be seen as green and so on. I never liked the pointillism technique when drawing, but I surprisingly liked using pointillism when painting. I painted a cuttlefish and I love the way it turned out.
Watercolor is almost elementary easy, but it can also become your foe. Since the paint is more transparent than completely opaque, too much layering of colors may make your creation muddy.

 
I worked on two oil paintings this semester. And as I worked more on them, I’ve grown accommodated to working with oil. I try not to think too much into it when painting. I worked with more earthen colors to create this landscape on the left. This is just with browns, reds, and greens. The one on the right is a painting made with colorful grays, although not as muted gray as it could be. This is just basically working with colors that are not very vibrant.
Since oil paint has a long drying time, I know it’s suggested that you paint part of it and come back a few days at it. However, as I am impatient whenever working on a craft or a painting I just used the long drying time to my advantage. I continued to paint a few layers on top of still wet layers. I found that it makes mixing colors more seamless. Although I’m done with the class now, I still want to continue working with oil paint.

Leave a Reply

